Deals at Hotdeals360.com
loading

The UAE Mars Mission Scheduled For This Month: A Woman Leads The Team

Joining the gang of a handful of countries taking trips to the space, the UAE is now all set to launch its first interplanetary mission to Mars, this month.
Updated: Jul 14, 2020 17:24 IST
Highlights
  • 6 Years To This Day
  • "Hope" UAE's Mars Mission
  • Live Streaming Link Inside
The UAE Mars Mission Scheduled For This Month: A Woman Leads The Team
The UAE Mars Mission Scheduled For This Month

This has been a six year tireless hard work and grueling duration to ultimately have the United Arab Emirates (UAE) join the band of space launchers.

The most interesting part about this mission is that it is being led by a woman – Sarah Al Amiri, who is also the UAE's state minister for advanced sciences.

It is worthy of mention that almost 34% Emiratis working on this project are women.

Hope- the Mars mission of the UAE will be launched on Friday, July 17.

The mission was scheduled for an early start, but delayed due to bad weather at the launch site in Japan.

The decision was made by the UAE Space Agency, Mohammed bin Rashid Space Centre and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, which built the H-IIA rocket that will launch the probe to space.

Authorities said the historic project – the first journey to the Red Planet undertaken by an Arab nation – would now blast off at 12.43am UAE time on Friday.

The launch of the spacecraft will be live streamed click here to watch it live- Watch Here

emiratesmarsmission 1594712345150

Inside View Of Hope UAE Mars Mission Centre
Photo Credit: emiratesmarsmission

This satellite will study the Mars atmosphere, the connection and reason behind loss of hydrogen and oxygen to outer space. After achieving its orbit around Mars, it will collect data for two years or more. The spacecraft will share conditions from day-to-day and also season-to-season, for a detailed study.

Where to watch the launch and what time:

  • Tanegashima, Japan Wednesday, July 14, 2020 at 01:51 p.m. PT
  • Dubai, UAE Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 00:51 GST
  • London Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 21:51 BST
  • New York City Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 16:51 EDT
  • Los Angeles Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 13:51 PDT

Hope is not a competition to NASA, neither is it in collaboration with NASA; it is a low cost Mars project by the UAE.

With this project the UAE is looking at transforming its image from an oil-based economy to one with advanced science and technology.

The UAE has also opened up programmes from its Arab Space Pioneers for young aspiring engineers and researchers.

For the latest deals, offers and news, follow HotDeals360 on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google News and subscribe to our YouTube channel.
The HotDeals360 team writes about stuff we think you'll like. HotDeals360 has affiliate partnerships, so we get a share of the revenue from your purchase.

Sshradha is well-known as the "queen of sarcasm and wit" which makes reading her write-ups fun, Someone who is forever craving for delicious spicy food and is fond of travelling too. Her weekends are often spent at movie theatres or at home reading gripping fiction books and biographies. Her company is indeed a blessing as with her you can never have a gloomy day. Her exquisiteness of work is something not so often found. Wanna be friends with her? Then just get her some home cooked delicious food!

...read more
Fear of Missing Out Best Deals?
Subscribe to our newsletter. Now!
Sign Up
Amazon Prime Day Sale 2020